Dalí, the Sea & Me

Posted on Updated on

Woman at Window. Salvador Dáli. 1925.
Woman at Window. Salvador Dalí. 1925.
This morning I was looking at a painting by Salvador Dali- Woman at Window. Elbows on the window frame her physique is clear beneath the drape of the light worn cotton. We see her back. Is she too engrossed to notice us?
The colours are reminiscent of what meets my eye now. I too am looking through a window at a simmering bay with boats skimming on the surface. Bobbing.  I’ve been thinking about this painting all day as it startled me while flicking through art on my morning train ride. I’d never seen it before and I’d never have spotted it as a Dali, it is closer to a Magritte in the subject matter.
As I sit gazing at the bay, I’m reminded of my morning reverie and then I do a most expected thing. Especially after being cooped all day in my clinic room.
The door is flung open. I want to feel the view, to see the air blow my cape. Sometimes it’s not enough to survey the panorama, it’s better by far to be a part of it. It seems seagulls run by the same maxim and not only in terms of scavenging for fish and chips. What a nice little life philosophy. Instead of being the voyeur, better to enter the view. Feel the view. Be the view.
If you ask me what I came into this life to do, I will tell you: I came to live out loud
– Emile Zola
Yours truly
Yours truly

image

image

image
Those Gulls
Those Gulls

image

One thought on “Dalí, the Sea & Me

    Margaret Lobegeiger said:
    July 23, 2013 at 11:30 am

    Love it, Sarah!

    Sent from my Telstra Next G device

What do you think?

