Little Lemonade Entrepreneurs

Posted on Updated on

Image

I could smell it before I saw it. The air in my neighborhood is infused with lemon. Head down this morning watching for dupki (Sofia’s notorious gaps, wobbles and craters in the footpath) I was moving at a quick pace, with only 1 minute to get to my tram stop. I look up and there they are. Bulgaria’s hope. Juicing lemons to make old school limonada.

I’m hopelessly late, but who could not stop? They each speak a bit of English, enough to make a sale. As they fill my plastic cup with the fresh cool juice and charge me 60 stotinki I ask them what they will do with the money.

“We’ll use it for fun”, the boy replies. I pass them 1 lev and say, “Keep the change,”  but the little girl in the floral dress is adamant that I get my 40 stotinki back. Bless her.

As I sip my limonada and walk briskly on, I ponder what awaits these children. In a nation embroiled in incessant civilian protests against pervasive governmental corruption (today marks the 22nd day of protests), the future is somewhat grim. I hope for a brighter Bulgaria for my little lemonade entrepreneurs. Keep protesting Bulgaria!!!

RELATED ARTICLES:

5 thoughts on “Little Lemonade Entrepreneurs

    Patricia said:
    July 6, 2013 at 9:54 am

    Great photo and story. x

      MsDivageiger responded:
      July 6, 2013 at 9:56 am

      They were so cute and enthusiastic!

    carlosnegronmontoya said:
    July 7, 2013 at 1:58 am

    I love such entrepreneurial stories. Hope them go on and be successful in life! 🙂

    CHANAPLUM said:
    July 11, 2013 at 12:30 pm

    Reblogged this on CHANAPLUM and commented:
    aww so cute!

      MsDivageiger responded:
      July 11, 2013 at 3:48 pm

      Hey thanks! Aren’t they the cutest little kids!

What do you think?

