Tour de… A Fahrrad would be Rad.

Posted on Updated on

Hermes 2013 Campaign
Hermes 2013 Campaign

We are seated on leather bar stools chatting over fragrant pizza. I ask my 30 year old friend the cordial, “So how have you been, what have you been doing?,” which is quipped with an unexpectedly vivacious response, “I learnt to ride a bike.”

I stifled an eruption of giggles. I thought he was being sardonic. But he was serious. He really had, just learnt to ride a bike. Something he had always wanted to do but never been taught. As he ecstatically outlined his achievement and mastery his face resumed a boyish charm, “It’s like you’re flying,” he said.

Robert JACQUINOT in the Tour de France. 1922.
Robert JACQUINOT in the Tour de France. 1922.

I felt a twinge of envy. The same envy you feel when you recommend a 10 year old a long list of your beloved books, that they have not yet read. In those moments you wish you could uncover the twinkling gems of exhilarating stories. I can ride a bike and I have gorged myself giddy on bending shelves of books but imagine doing it all again for the first time. Imagine. Learning to ride a a bike at 30.

They spin past me, carefree and mostly helmet free on the boulevards. As I ambulate sans wheels, I can’t help thinking how much a bike would be my best accessory.

I always had a bike as a kid. I probably spent the longest time on trainer wheels of anyone you know. Growing up in a valley in the hills of Perth was the perfect locale to spend your holidays riding, ringing your bell, whirring your wheels and stealing a few pieces of fruit from the orchards when the fancy took me. I even have emblems etched into my knees –  spoils of poor coordination combined with treacherous gravel.

Image from Pashley Cycles. 2013.
Image from Pashley Cycles. 2013.

Señor Divageiger and I both dream of living in Carlton and cycling everywhere. I want a wicker basket for Seppe Verdi (pooch) and gleaming frame.  I peruse Copenhagen Cycle Chic on a regular basis and have a big whopping penchant for Pashley… I’m not sure if he realises the lengths I want to go to, to cycle in style but I guess he will soon.

Bottle Bar Bag. Pashley 2013.
Bottle Bar Bag. Pashley 2013.
Scarlet Sunglasses. Anne et Valentin.
Scarlet Sunglasses. Anne et Valentin.
Pashley Princess Sovreign.
Pashley Princess Sovereign.
Mulberry Angora Beret. 2013.
Mulberry Angora Beret. 2013.
Princess Cycling Blazer. Pashley 2013.
Princess Cycling Blazer. Pashley 2013.
Fleuri de Provence. Hermes. 2013
Fleuri de Provence. Hermes. 2013
Chloe Leather Knee Highs. 2013.
Chloe Leather Knee Highs. 2013.
Bottega Veneta. Long leather and intrecciato wool gloves. 2013.
Bottega Veneta. Long leather and intrecciato wool gloves. 2013.
One thought on “Tour de… A Fahrrad would be Rad.

    Margaret lobegeiger said:
    March 20, 2014 at 7:26 pm

    Great! Would like to have a ride. Don’t think those boots would work!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

What do you think?

