Lacrimosa or Requiem for a Friend

Posted on Updated on

Image
Cyrkva Sveti Sedmochislenitsi

Words are small for today. I attended an orthodox requiem mass for a dear friend’s brother. A senseless death. Holding a beeswax candle in one hand and long stem lilies in the other, I prayed that some of my strength could be past to my grieving friend. The sounds of the cantors floated with the incense as I fought for composure.

As I left the church, I happened upon a fellow student of my maestra. I was flustered and confused and barely said hello. Later at a concert on the same evening, I apologised and tried to explain my absent greeting. She asked me, “Was it a mafia bosses funeral? Only funerals for the bosses get crowds like that”. I declined, in fact it was the opposite. His noble character got the crowds.

Image
Bees wax candles lit in Sveta Nedelya last year
One thought on “Lacrimosa or Requiem for a Friend

    Patricia said:
    June 21, 2013 at 8:06 am

    Sad and worse if unnecessary. Love to you! ox

What do you think?

